FAQ

Find the answers to your questions below.

What is the difference between approval and accreditation?
  • Approval is the action through which the relevant authority (in France, this is the national institute for origins and quality, INAO) authorises a certification body to issue agricultural provenance labels, compliance certificates, organic production certificates or indeed more than one such certification, for one or more products.
  • Accreditation attests to the competence, impartiality and independence of a certification body relative to the standards in force. While accreditation was originally a voluntary procedure, it has become mandatory in many areas of activity in Europe because it establishes trust in the certifications conducted. In France, the French Accreditation Committee (Cofrac) is the designated body for the accreditation of certification bodies according to the EN 45011 standard.
What is certification?

Certification is a voluntary process. Any entity conducting a business for which a standard exists may ask to have its output or services certified. Certification is a procedure through which a third party, the certification body, gives a written assurance that an organisational system, process, person, product or a service complies with requirements specified in a standard or benchmark. Certification is awarded for a limited period, during which the certification body carries out monitoring.

Cofrac (the French Accreditation Committee) therefore exercises second-level control it being the organisation that inspects the certification bodies, i.e.

Cofrac >> certification body >> operators.

What is an organic agricultural product?

It is compulsory for any product labelled "organic" to meet the requirements of one of the official sets of regulations on agriculture and organic produce:

  • Europe: European regulation (EC) No 834/2007 and its implementing regulations (EC) 889/2008 and 1235/2008;
  • United-States: NOP regulation (National Organic Program).
  • Japan: JAS regulation (Japanese Agricultural Standard).

The product is inspected and certified by an independent body (accredited by French government authorities), such as Ecocert. The certification body ensures product traceability throughout the value chain: production, processing, packaging, storage and distribution. Laboratory analysis may be carried out in addition to the on-site checking of products.

The criteria defining an organic agricultural product are as follows:

  • Organic agricultural products: grown avoiding the use of chemical fertilisers or synthetic products, in ground fertilised with organic fertilisers and natural minerals favourable to life within the soil, application of the precautionary principle.
  • Animals: predominantly fed on organic feed, non-intensive husbandry, reared with access to the open air, maximum living space.
  • Processed products: made from controlled organically-sourced farm ingredients and eventually from non-agricultural ingredients as authorised by European regulations or NOP.
How does Ecocert inspect organic products?

Ecocert has available an extensive network of inspectors in over 80 countries for on-site inspection of products from organic farming. Ecocert undertakes at least one inspection per year, supplemented by spot checks over the course of the year. Samples may be taken for laboratory analysis. The entire production chain is checked, from the raw material to the finished product. A scale of penalties applies to non-compliant products, which may go as far as final suspension of the certificate.

Can an organic product contain GMOs?

In accordance with the European regulations on organic farming (EC 834/2007 Article 9.1), the use of GMOs is prohibited in organic production. In the event of proven contamination above the labelling threshold (0.9% currently), the products concerned are to be demoted from the organic value chain. Below this threshold, the certification decision is taken on the basis of the cause of contamination. If it is accidental, the operator is to put remedial measures in place to avert any risk of contamination. If the contamination is deliberate, this is a violation and the product is demoted.

How can consumers tell whether Ecocert certifies an organic product?

Ecocert conducts on-site inspections to ensure that a product properly complies with the requirements laid down in a "standard" (or "specification"). An Ecocert-certified product may be identified in various ways, consumers therefore need to read the labels and find one of the following:

  • The Ecocert certification logo.
  • The wording "Ecocert-certified"
  • By the codes allocated to Ecocert by the European Commission:
    - FR-BIO-01: for Ecocert France SAS in France.
    - AB-BIO-602 (AB or ISO country code numbers): for Ecocert SA in most of countries outside the European Union.

Any of these prove that the wording ("organic" for example) displayed on the product has been checked for compliance by Ecocert.

What is an "Input"?

An input is a product eligible for use in organic farming used either in actual production or processing.

The term includes:

  • Supplements and fertilisers (organic, mineral and organo-mineral);
  • Seeds.
  • Crop-growing media.
  • Phytosanitary products.
  • Cleaning and disinfection agents
  • Non-farming ingredients (additives, enzymes, processing aids, microorganism...).
What are ecological and organic cosmetics?

A trailblazer in this field, Ecocert created and introduced the "Natural and organic cosmetics" standard in 2003. A cosmetic certified as organic by Ecocert must be labelled "Ecocert-certified ecological and/or organic cosmetic" and may display the Ecocert certification logo.

Its criteria are among the most stringent on the market:

  • At least 95% natural ingredients in the finished product.
  • No GMOs, parabens, phenoxyethanol, ingredients derived from petrochemicals or synthetic chemistry; no testing of the finished product on animals.
  • The whole manufacturing process is controlled, up to the packing stage, and the packaging and outer packaging must be biodegradable or recyclable.
  • The labelling must be transparent for the consumer.
How is the percentage of organic ingredients in cosmetics calculated?

A 5% to 10% minimum of organic ingredients may at first sight seem a very low percentage. However, it should be recalled that water is the main ingredient in most cosmetics (50 to 60% on average) and water cannot be certified. This 5% to 10% is therefore in reality a high percentage, since the Ecocert specification is the only one that includes ALL the ingredients in the formula in its calculation, including water.

This minimum percentage is combined with conditions regarding each category of certifiable ingredients since 95% of ingredients must be natural or of natural origin.
Most other bodies and associations calculate the organic percentage excluding water and salt, which artificially inflates the final percentage of organic ingredients found on the label displayed for consumer information.

What is the difference between Ecocert and Cosmébio?

Cosmébio and Ecocert, which both work for organic cosmetics and which worked together on the "Ecocert ecological and organic cosmetics specifications" in 2002, are two different organisations, independent from each other and with separate articles of association and purposes:

  • Ecocert is an independent and accredited certification body. As such, Ecocert developed and introduced the "Ecocert ecological and organic cosmetics" specification.
    Ecocert inspects products on the basis of this specification, and issues organic certification. The products in question must bear the wording "Ecocert-certified". This is the only labelling guaranteeing organic certification for the consumer. The product can consequently be marketed being described as "organic".
  • Cosmébio is a French non-profit organisation bringing together some manufacturers of certified organic cosmetics. As such, the purpose of Cosmébio is to promote certified organic cosmetics with French consumers. Its role does not include either inspection or certification of cosmetics.
    For advertising purposes, it uses a "Cosmébio Charter" label, which is a simplified version of the Ecocert specification, and a Cosmébio logo.

    Membership of this organisation is not compulsory and it provides no additional or different guarantees from Ecocert certification - companies can become Cosmébio members only if they manufacture cosmetics that have been previously certified as organic by a certification body, such as Ecocert. Many certified manufacturers do not wish to join Cosmébio and therefore do not use the Cosmébio logo.
What is the "Ecocert Fair Trade" guarantee?

Ecocert created the "Ecocert Fair Trade" (EFT) standard in 2007 in conjunction with representatives from the value chain - producers, suppliers, manufacturers, retailers and consumers. Revised in 2010 to apply exclusively to products meeting both organic farming and fair trade criteria, it relates to food, cosmetics and textiles. The EFT standard meets the expectations of consumers with a globally public-spirited philosophy who want to buy environmentally friendly, socially responsible products.

The "Ecocert Fair Trade" label means therefore that the product is both organic and fair trade. Ecocert thus provides a comprehensive response to the expectations of consumers who were previously forced to choose between organic or fair trade.

Why have a specification for environmentally friendly natural cleaning products?

The general regulations for detergents set boundaries and limits on products' toxicity for humans. By creating the "natural cleaning products" standard in 2006, Ecocert's aim was to augment these regulations by defining criteria for the manufacture of environmentally-friendly detergents. The basic principles of the green detergents standard are as follows:

  • To protect our planet and its resources by using renewable ingredients obtained using eco-friendly methods and by banning the majority of synthetic petrochemical-based ingredients.
  • To protect and inform the consumer by clearly stating the origin and quantity of the ingredients used and the presence of allergens and by recommending environmental advice and precautions for use.
What are organic textiles?

The textile industry is one of the world's most polluting industries. It is consequently not enough to certify the raw fibre in order for a textile to be environmentally friendly; all the stages in manufacture must also be taken into account.
Ecocert therefore offers the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS), which includes all stages of textile manufacture - the raw fibre must be certified as sourced from organic farming, and the entire manufacturing process must meet environmental and social criteria.

What is an "Ecological green space"?

Ecocert's "Ecological Green Spaces - Eve®" standard is used to evaluate and promote the environmental management of green spaces: no pesticides or chemical fertilisers, water and soil management, maintaining biodiversity, air quality, recycling and composting. It applies to various kinds of spaces such as town squares, parks and gardens, or managed natural areas, be they public or private.

Any questions you need to ask, you can use our contact form to ask it. We will answer you shortly.

FAQ

Retrouvez toutes les réponses aux questions que vous vous posez.

Quelle est la différence entre agrément et accréditation ?
  • L’agrément est l’acte par lequel l'autorité compétente (pour la France, il s'agit de l'INAO – Institut national de l’origine et de la qualité) autorise un organisme certificateur à délivrer pour un ou des produits : des labels agricoles, des certificats de conformité, des certificats du mode de production biologique ou plusieurs de ces certifications.
  • L'accréditation est l'attestation de la compétence, de l'impartialité et de l'indépendance d'un organisme certificateur au regard des normes en vigueur. Si l’accréditation est à l’origine une démarche volontaire, elle est devenue obligatoire dans de nombreux secteurs d’activités en Europe car elle permet d’établir la confiance dans les certifications effectuées. En France, c’est le Comité français d’accréditation (Cofrac) qui est désigné pour l’accréditation des organismes de certification selon la norme EN 45011.
Qu'est-ce que la certification ?

La certification est une procédure par laquelle une tierce partie, l’organisme certificateur, donne une assurance écrite qu’un système d’organisation, un processus, une personne, un produit ou un service est conforme à des exigences spécifiées dans une norme ou un référentiel Toute entité peut s’engager dans une démarche de certification.  Dans certains cas, la certification est une exigence réglementaire.

Qu'est-ce qu'un produit issu de l'agriculture biologique ?

L'agriculture biologique est encadrée par des règlementations officielles.

Les produits biologiques doivent obligatoirement répondre aux exigences de l’un de ces règlements :

  • En Europe : Règlement européen (CE) N°834/2007 et ses règlements d’application (CE) N°889/2008 et (CE) N°1235/2008.
  • En Amérique du Nord : Règlement NOP (National Organic Program).
  • Au Japon : Règlement JAS (Japanese Agricultural Standard).

Le produit est contrôlé et certifié par un organisme indépendant et accrédité, comme Ecocert. L'organisme certificateur garantit la traçabilité du produit tout au long de la filière : production, transformation, conditionnement, stockage et distribution. La vérification des produits sur le terrain peut être complétée par l'analyse en laboratoire.

Un produit portant la mention "issu de l'agriculture biologique" doit respecter les critères suivants :

  • Produits agricoles biologiques : culture évitant l'usage d'engrais chimique et produit de synthèse ; terres fertilisées par des engrais organiques et des minéraux naturels qui favorisent la vie du sol ; application du principe de précaution.
  • Animaux : nourris principalement avec des aliments biologiques ; soignés par méthodes douces ; élevés avec accès au plein air ; espace vital maximum.
  • Produits transformés : constitués d’ingrédients agricoles biologiques contrôlés et éventuellement d’ingrédients agricoles non biologiques et d'ingrédients non agricoles autorisés par le Règlement européen ou NOP.
Le périmètre de contrôle de la production biologique

Les procédures d’organisation, de de contrôle et de certification d’Ecocert sont étroitement encadrées et surveillées par les autorités de tutelle.
Le Règlement européen relatif à la production biologique définit des exigences techniques applicables au système de production et de transformation. Ecocert vérifie que ces exigences sont bien respectées par les producteurs et fabricants, qui s’engagent volontairement dans cette démarche.
Les contrôles concernent l’ensemble du système de production : parcelles de terre, semences, engrais, troupeaux, pratiques de culture et d’élevage, recettes, lieux de stockage, transformation, étiquetage, etc. A chaque étape, Ecocert vérifie l’absence d’OGM, pesticides, engrais de synthèse, afin ‘assurer la qualité biologique des produits étiquetés comme tels.

Enfin, les contrôles d’Ecocert ne se substituent pas mais s’ajoutent aux contrôles habituellement effectués par les autres instances et autorités compétentes sur l’ensemble des produits agricoles et alimentaires, qu’ils soient conventionnels ou biologiques: Commission Européenne, AFSSA, Ministère de l’Agriculture, DGCCRF, Services de la Direction Générale des Douanes, etc.
 

Comment les produits biologiques sont-ils contrôlés par Ecocert ?

Ecocert dispose d'un réseau de contrôleurs étendu dans plus de 80 pays pour contrôler sur le terrain les produits issus de l’agriculture biologique. Ecocert procède à un contrôle par an minimum, complété par des contrôles inopinés au cours de l’année. Des prélèvements d’échantillons peuvent être effectués pour être analysés en laboratoire. Toute la chaîne de production est contrôlée, de la matière première au produit fini. Une grille de sanction s’applique aux produits non conformes, pouvant aller jusqu'à la suspension définitive du certificat.

Un produit biologique peut-il contenir des OGM ?

Conformément au Règlement européen de l’agriculture biologique (RCE 834/2007 article 9.1), l’utilisation d’OGM est interdite en production biologique. En cas de contamination avérée au-delà du seuil d’étiquetage (0,9% actuellement), les produits concernés doivent être déclassés du circuit biologique. En dessous de ce seuil, la décision de certification est prise en fonction de la cause de la contamination. Si elle est fortuite, l’opérateur devra mettre en place des actions correctives pour échapper à tout risque de contamination. Si la contamination est volontaire, il s’agit d’une fraude et le produit est déclassé.

Comment savoir qu'un produit biologique est certifié par Ecocert?

Ecocert procède à des contrôles sur le terrain pour s’assurer qu'un produit est bien conforme aux exigences définies dans un « référentiel » (ou « cahier des charges »). Un produit certifié par Ecocert peut être identifié de différentes manières, il faut donc lire les étiquettes et repérer :

  • Le code d'Ecocert (mention obligatoire pour les produits issus de l'agriculture biologique ) :

    - FR-BIO-01 : pour Ecocert France SAS en France.

    - ISO code du pays-BIO-602 : pour Ecocert SA en pays tiers.
  • La mention « Certifié par Ecocert » (non obligatoire).
  • Le logo de certification Ecocert (non obligatoire).

Tous ces éléments sont la preuve que la dénomination (« biologique » par exemple) affichée sur le produit a été contrôlée conforme par Ecocert.

 

Qu'est-ce qu'un « Intrant » ?

Un intrant est un produit utilisable en agriculture biologique qui entre dans la production ou la transformation. Ce terme englobe, entre autre :

  • Les amendements et les engrais (organiques, minéraux et organo-minéraux).
  • Les semences.
  • Les supports de culture.
  • Les produits phytosanitaires.
  • Les agents de nettoyage et de désinfection.
  • Les ingrédients d'origine non agricole (additifs, auxiliaires technologiques, arômes naturels, micro-organismes, enzymes...).
Qu'est-ce que la cosmétique écologique et biologique ?

Précurseur dans ce domaine, Ecocert a créé et déposé le référentiel « Cosmétique écologique et biologique » en 2003. Un cosmétique certifié biologique par Ecocert doit obligatoirement porter la mention « Cosmétique écologique et/ou biologique certifié par Ecocert » et peut afficher le logo de certification Ecocert.

Ses critères sont parmi les plus exigeants du marché :

  • 95% d’ingrédients naturels au minimum dans le produit fini.
  • Absence d’OGM, parabens, phénoxyéthanol, ingrédients issus de la pétrochimie ou chimie de synthèse; pas de tests de produits finis sur les animaux.
  • Tout le processus de fabrication est contrôlé, jusqu’au conditionnement, et les emballages et suremballages doivent être biodégradables ou recyclables.
  • L’étiquetage pour le consommateur doit être transparent.

Le cahier des charges définit deux niveaux :

  • Pour le label « Cosmétique écologique » : 5 % minimum du total des ingrédients doivent être issus de l’agriculture biologique (et 50% minimum des ingrédients végétaux de la formule).
  • Pour le label « Cosmétique biologique » : 10 % minimum du total des ingrédients doivent être issus de l’agriculture biologique (et 95% minimum des ingrédients végétaux de la formule).
Comment est calculé le pourcentage d’ingrédients biologiques dans les cosmétiques ?

Les 5% à 10% minimum d’ingrédients biologiques peuvent sembler un très faible pourcentage à première vue. Cependant, il faut se rappeler que l’eau représente le principal ingrédient dans la majorité des cosmétiques (50 à 60 % en moyenne) et qu’elle n’est pas certifiable. Aussi, ces 5 % à 10 % sont en réalité un pourcentage élevé, dans la mesure où le cahier des charges Ecocert est le seul à prendre en compte TOUS les ingrédients de la formule dans son calcul, y compris l’eau. Ce pourcentage minimum s’accompagne de conditions concernant chaque catégorie d’ingrédients certifiables puisque 95 % des ingrédients doivent être naturels ou d’origine naturelle.

La plupart des autres organismes ou associations calculent le pourcentage de biologique en excluant l’eau et les sels, ce qui gonfle artificiellement le pourcentage final de biologique qui se retrouve affiché sur l’étiquette destinée à informer le consommateur.

Quelle est la différence entre Ecocert et Cosmébio ?

Cosmébio et Ecocert, qui œuvrent toutes deux pour la cosmétique biologique et ont travaillé ensemble sur le « cahier des charges de la cosmétique écologique et biologique Ecocert » en 2002, sont deux structures différentes, indépendantes l’une de l’autre, aux statuts et aux missions distinctes :

  • Ecocert est un organisme de certification, indépendant et accrédité. A ce titre, Ecocert a développé et déposé le cahier des charges de la " Cosmétique écologique et biologique Ecocert".
    Ecocert contrôle les produits selon ce cahier des charges, et délivre la certification bio. Les produits concernés portent obligatoirement la mention « certifié par Ecocert ». C’est la seule mention qui garantit la certification bio pour le consommateur. Le produit peut ainsi être commercialisé en revendiquant sa qualité « bio ».

 

  • Cosmébio est une association professionnelle française, qui rassemble certains fabricants de cosmétique certifiée bio. A ce titre, Cosmébio a pour objectif de faire la promotion de la cosmétique certifiée bio auprès des consommateurs français. Sa mission n’est ni le contrôle ni la certification des cosmétiques.
    Pour communiquer, elle utilise les outils suivants : la « Charte Cosmébio », qui est une version vulgarisée du cahier des charges d’Ecocert ; le logo Cosmébio.
    L’adhésion à cette association n’est pas obligatoire, et elle n’apporte aucune garantie supplémentaire ou différente de la certification Ecocert : les entreprises peuvent devenir adhérentes à Cosmébio seulement si elles fabriquent des cosmétiques déjà certifiées bio par un organisme de certification, comme Ecocert. De nombreux fabricants certifiés ne souhaitent pas adhérer à Cosmébio et n’utilisent donc pas le logo Cosmébio.

 

Qu'est-ce que la garantie « Ecocert Equitable » ?

Ecocert a créé le référentiel « Equitable, Solidaire et Responsable (ESR) » en 2007 en concertation avec les représentants de la filière : producteurs, fournisseurs, fabricants, distributeurs et consommateurs. Révisé en 2010 pour s’appliquer exclusivement aux produits qui répondent à la fois aux critères de l’agriculture biologique et du commerce équitable, il concerne les produits alimentaires, cosmétiques et textiles. Le référentiel ESR répond aux attentes des consommateurs qui désirent acheter des produits respectueux de l’Homme et de l’environnement, dans une démarche citoyenne et globale.

La mention « Ecocert Equitable » sur l’étiquette signifie donc que le produit est à la fois biologique et équitable. Ecocert apporte ainsi une réponse globale aux attentes des consommateurs, qui étaient jusque-là obligés de choisir entre le biologique et l’équitable.

Comment les produits « Ecocert Equitable » sont-ils contrôlés?

Les auditeurs d’Ecocert contrôlent toutes les étapes de la fabrication, au moins une fois par an, depuis le pays de production jusqu’à la distribution (la vanille à Madagascar, le beurre de karité au Burkina Faso, l’huile d’argan au Maroc, le coton en Inde...). Ecocert garantit également la transparence et la traçabilité, puisque le consommateur peut trouver toutes les informations liées au produit directement sur les étiquettes.

Qu'est ce qu'un textile biologique ?

L’industrie textile est une des plus polluantes au monde. Ainsi, il ne suffit pas de certifier la fibre brute pour que le textile soit respectueux de l’environnement ; il faut aussi prendre en compte toutes les étapes de fabrication.

Ecocert propose donc le référentiel Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS), qui intègre toutes les étapes de transformation textile : la fibre brute doit être certifiée en agriculture biologique et tout le processus de transformation doit respecter des critères environnementaux et sociaux.

Pourquoi un cahier des charges pour les détergents écologiques ?

La réglementation générale pour les détergents encadre et limite la toxicité des produits pour l’homme. En créant le référentiel « Détergent écologique » en 2006, l’objectif d’Ecocert était de compléter cette réglementation en définissant des critères pour la fabrication de détergents respectueux de l’environnement. Les principes fondamentaux du référentiel des détergents écologiques sont les suivants :

  • Protéger notre planète et ses ressources en imposant l’utilisation d’ingrédients d’origine renouvelable (privilégiant l’utilisation d’ingrédients issus de l’agriculture biologique), obtenus par des procédés respectueux de l’environnement et interdisant la plupart des ingrédients de synthèse.
  • Protéger et informer le consommateur en affichant une composition plus précise, en listant les allergènes et en garantissant une traçabilité des ingrédients lors de la fabrication.
Qu’est-ce qu’un Espace vert écologique ?

Le référentiel « Espaces Verts Ecologiques - Eve® » d’Ecocert permet d’évaluer et de mettre en valeur la gestion écologique des espaces verts : pas de pesticide ni d’engrais chimique, gestion de l’eau et des sols, respect de la biodiversité, qualité de l’air, recyclage et compostage. Il s’applique à différents types d’espaces tels que les squares et les jardins de centre-ville ou les espaces naturels aménagés, publics ou privés.

Pour toutes autres questions, veuillez nous adresser votre demande via notre formulaire de contact. Nous vous répondrons dans les meilleurs délais.